Brother Mobile Solutions Launches New PocketJet 8 Series – PCT

ARILINGTON, Va. – RISE (Industry members responsible for a healthy environment gathered for the association’s 32nd annual meeting on waterfront property in Lake Oconee, Ga.

More than 150 participants gathered for three days to actualize the five-year strategic plan goals of collaboration, engagement and coming together as an industry that serves as the voice of specialty pesticides and fertilizers.

Attendees included RISE members who are manufacturers, formulators and distributors of specialty pesticides used in public, aquatic, consumer health, forestry, nursery and greenhouse, structural pest control, turf and ornamental plant and vegetation management.

The theme of the meeting was Gather, Connect, RISE with Megan Provost, President of RISE, emphasizing that coming together as an industry is key to successful advocacy.

“We speak as the voice of our industry and champion regulatory and legislative certainty,” Provost told attendees at the annual meeting. “We work to help you be better advocates and spokespersons for our industry.”

Connection via speakers and panels

RISE hosted two main panels. The first in which leaders from partner pest management, golf and landscape associations joined Provost to share what the industry can do to speak with a unified voice.

The second roundtable brought together top communicators in the industry who discussed how to implement messaging using RISE public opinion research.

The keynote speaker was Timothy Caulfield from the University of Alberta, Canada, a communicator, professor and research scientist who debunks myths and assumptions about innovation for the benefit of the public and policy makers.

Tribute to Board Members and Committee Chairs

The RISE Board of Directors elected two new members, Steven Farrington, Gowan Company, and Jeff Bunting, GROWMARK, Inc.

The 2023 Executive Committee of the Board of Directors is:

• Karen Larson, President, Clarke

• Jose Milan, Vice President, Bayer Environmental Science

• Blaine Pinkerton, Treasurer, Nufarm Americas

The following are also continuing their terms of office on the 2022-23 Board of Directors:

• Barbara Aguiar, BASF

• Kathy Bishop, Lebanon Seaboard Corporation

• Bill Culpepper, SePRO Corporation

• John Johnson, Prokoz, Inc.

• Todd Mason, Sipcam Agro USA

• Scott Reasons, Syngenta

• Nadia Sinno, FMC Corporation

• Shayne Wetherall, AMGUARD Environmental Technologies

Daryl Allen, Corteva Agriscience, and Brian Rowan, SiteOne Landscape Supply, are completing their terms on the Board of Directors.

RISE members and others honored with awards

RISE members and other industry leaders were honored with awards. The 2022 E. Allen James Leadership Award recipient was Wendell Codner, FMC Chief Commercial Officer of Global Consumer Solutions and former Chairman of the Strategic Oversight Board.


Wendell Codner, FMC, is the recipient of the 2022 E. Allen James Leadership Award. Pictured from left are RISE Board Chair Karen Larson, Clarke; Wendell Codner; Vice Chairman of the Board José Milan, Bayer; and Board Treasurer Blaine Pinkerton, Nufarm.

RISE’s most distinguished volunteer honor, named for its first president, recognizes exemplary leadership and outstanding contributions to the specialty pesticide and fertilizer industry and to RISE.

“Since joining RISE, Wendell has been an active member of our committees,” Provost said. “He helped attract and retain members and helped provide the best possible programs for our members. He has been proactive in managing RISE activities and thinks first of our industry. »

The 2022 RISE Grassroots Achievement Award was presented to two recipients this year, Matthew Johnson, president of Aquatic Control, for his grassroots federal work, and Pete Gorman, president of the Connecticut Environmental Council, for his work in the state. .

Established in 2012, the RISE Grassroots Excellence Award is presented annually to an individual, group, or allied association that demonstrates outstanding effort and contribution to advancing the mission, vision, and goals of public policy advocacy of the RISE. ‘specialty pesticide and fertilizer industry through the grassroots.

The 2022 Strategic Driver Award, recognizing the work of RISE’s volunteer leaders and their impact in helping RISE achieve the mission and vision of its strategic plan, was awarded to:

• Julie Schlekau, Valent Senior Manager, Label and State Affairs Group and Vice Chair of our Regulatory Affairs Committee, for her role in advancing our regulatory advocacy, in particular helping to reauthorize the Pesticide Registration Improvement Act (PRIA 5 ).

• Dillon Gabbert, Bayer State Regulatory Engagement Manager, for his engagement with the RISE team to drive regulatory advocacy strategy and engagement.

RISE founding member, longtime volunteer leader, and board member Bill Culpepper, Founder/President of SePRO, was recognized for his 31 years of service to the association at his last RISE Annual Meeting before his retirement. RISE leaders shared their feelings and best wishes in a video and Bill received a set of RISE pickleball racquets.


Bill Culpepper, Founder/Chairman of SePRO, founding member of RISE, longtime volunteer leader and board member, received a pair of pickleball paddles in recognition of his upcoming retirement. He is pictured with RISE President Megan Provost (left) and RISE Board Chair Karen Larson Clarke.
Previous Central Texas Turf Pest Control Workshop September 13
Next Smart Pest Monitoring Management System Market Forecast to 2028